Skip to content

why blog?

July 8, 2011

So, I love to write – to share the ideas bouncing around in my head with others.  However, I had never seriously considered blogging simply because I saw it as being too egocentric – at least for the reasons I had considered doing it.  Then, after a series of intense girl-talks I came to the realization that there is a lot about marriage and parenting that people (especially men) don’t talk openly about. 

The lack of communication in these areas has left young and even many experienced couples with no weight with which to measure the strength of their relationship. It can also leave parents with a strong sense that their child is just special – more strong-willed, more cleverly manipulative, more distractible, etc. than other, “well-mannered” children.  While every relationship and every child is unique, there are specific truths that build the foundation for healthy marriages, and there are necessary characteristics for healthy parent-child relationships.  Most of the time, though, we are left to discover these truths on our own, and that often leads to needless heartache and frustration.

My hopes for this blog are to:

1. Let you in on some of the hard-earned lessons I’ve learned through my own experiences as a wife and mother of two… the things people rarely talk about, so you can learn them the easy way.
2. Give you (and myself) some added perspectives from contributors who are honest and have “been there,” and “done that.”
3. Dispel current myths in our society about relationships.
4. Get us all to laugh at ourselves more! Life is an adventure, and laughter helps us shake the dust off our soul when we’re weary; and besides – I’ve always said that it’s the best form of exercise! 🙂

I should warn you now that I have no writing degree and I am certain to make many grammatical and spelling errors. I can only promise you that I will write from my heart.

I should also tell you in advance that the most important factors in all my experience are the love and grace of Christ, and I will be writing from the perspective of a woman who is in love with her Savior.  It’s His love and grace that have enabled me to come through the last several years of “challenges” with joy, peace, love for life and people, and my sense of humor still intact.

All that said, my first real blog will be titled… drumroll please…  “______  __________ = Better Sex!”  I know, you thought I’d give you the full title, but you’re just going to have to wait! 🙂 …in the meantime, feel free to guess what those first two words might be (hint: you won’t find the answer on a newstand or in a rap lyric)…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 7:54 pm

    Found your blog link on your fbk…as an unmarried single, I’m looking forward to stocking up on tips beforehand 🙂

    • August 1, 2011 8:40 pm

      That’s always a good idea! I’ll do my best to help you prepare. If nothing else, you’ll have a better idea of what not to do. Second-hand experience is a wonderful thing when it comes to mistakes. 🙂

    • February 3, 2012 10:30 am

      btw – My data is showing that you subscribed to just the comments on this paricular post, but not the blog as a whole. You’ll need to choose “follow” at the top of the screen to follow the rest of the blog. Thought you might want to know… 🙂

Leave a Reply

